Best of May


Invariably near the beginning of the month I take a shot that I think is the absolute best picture I have ever taken and it will be my Best of the Month. Then the one I choose is always one closer to the end of the month.

I think that this happens for two reasons, first my skill is growing each month which is good. I look back at earlier pictures and posts and I see how each shot could have been done better, clearer, how i would have re framed it. Some are still perfect.¬†Ironically the first picture I took on this daily journey – which is of a dragonfly on a leaf – became my best of 2012 and is still one of the best I’ve ever taken.

The second reason the picture I take near the beginning of the month is viewed so often and in my head all month. So when I choose my “Best” I am actually kind of tired of the picture. But the more recent image is more interesting to me.

This time I was not just looking at best technical or artistic, but what image do I want to choose to represent me as an artist?

So I chose this pair of angels is it sums up what I do as a photographer. It is beauty in the unremarkable, plain or decaying. It is two statues in a moderately maintained cemetery that would be largely ignored by anyone not connected to the family. I chose to shoot them because I wanted to show the two identical angels on two separate gravestones because it’s a common theme to see the same angel over many different graves. I love taking the small things left behind and creating art out of it.

It is also a good representation because it’s a happy accident, I did not see the small smiley face ring on the angel in the foreground until I was processing the photos from the shoot. And yet that little ring just makes the picture.

It is also a good representation of my art because it’s dominated by a single color theme. Recently I noticed that the majority of my pictures are dominated by a color. I could easily sort most of my photography into colors. This one is no exception. And again the little yellow ring sits in sharp contrast to the thematic color of the shot.

So below is what I consider the best of May because it best represents me as an artist. Do you agree?

https://www.facebook.com/RoseColoredPhoto

IMG_3561

Leave a Reply

