Cultures of India – Music & Dance “Wrapping Up”


If you have been following along then you know that I went to an event where I was able to watch the Music and Dance of India.

My sincere hope is that this will get back to the performers that I had the honor of watching find their way back to this blog so they know what a profound effect they had.

This woman has been featured in most of my posts – she was an absolute joy to watch and listen to. She played several pieces on the instrument that I don’t recall the name of. The skill with which she played the instrument was inspiring – and for me watching her interact with it was also a joy.

Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 11-54-04 AM Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 12-14-16 PM

This lovely dancer is an 8th grader with poise and courage far beyond her years. She danced to some Bollywood music – what I really loved about watching her was that there was a raw and fresh edge to her dancing that was beautiful. After she exited the stage she fled to her family and the way that she crumpled I fear that she may have made mistakes or she thought the performance was bad.

She may have lacked the refinement that comes with age and years of practice, but what she had was the innocence of youth. She clearly was doing something she loved and I found it an absolute joy to watch her on stage.

If could speak to her I would say “no one saw any mistakes, we only saw a beautiful performance”
Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 12-17-12 PM Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 12-17-28 PM

This gentleman sang a song from the 70’s – it was such a joy to hear his clear voice. The love for the music and culture was so clear I was absolutely swept along. Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 12-24-58 PM Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 12-23-29 PM

Finally this dancer came on stage. I don’t think any photography will do this lovely lady justice. The first dance was about love the second was a song for Krishna – they explained it and I tried to follow it. Sadly it leaked back out of my brain.

What was inspiring was how different the two dances were – in posture, in movement in everything she did. They were both so beautiful that I sat and wept for the beauty of it.

Please understand that this stage is in the middle of a local city festival. We were sitting on bleachers in front of a small stage surrounded by food carts. People were milling around and chatting. Behind here were some folding chairs, a few microphone stands, a can of mountain dew and a backpack. She had an empty stage, the music, the costume and her dance. And when she started to dance the rest of the world faded.

It was one of the most beautiful and inspiring things I have ever seen. I was truly honored
Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 12-29-07 PM Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 12-31-27 PM Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 12-33-16 PM Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 12-33-17 PM

Thank you for coming with me on this journey through India’s Music and DanceCultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 11-56-12 AM Cultures of India - music and dance 6-26-2013 11-57-48 AM

Leave a Reply

